Back to school...

Alexbabwa

Up untill now i have been day trading, or more specifically scalping with much success. Just buying and selling off support and resistance during oversold/overbought conditions, whilst avoiding any news announcements.

Now however i would like to swing trade, or at least hold a trade for hours at a time. I am a student who doesnt have a lot of time to day trade ("No time!?" yeah i know but it is final year after all). So i am back to paper trading and learning again taking into account the bigger picture, elliot wave, weekly pivots instead of daily, longer term support and resistance etc.

The purpose of this post is that i would like to know your thoughts. Perhaps where i should start, some good sources of information, your opinions from personal experience (when the market does not conform to expectations). Anything at all that might be useful, im a spounge for knowledge :D I am of course doing my own research but if just one reply helps me discover something new, or otherwise left unventured, then this thread will be well worth the effort.

For the bitter folk out there who would like to post, just to tell me they are under no obligation to do so. Or for the generally spiteful people who think i am outrageous for even asking, your posts will not be acknowledged.

read "Profiting with Forex" by John Jagerson and S. Wade Hansen. It's focused more on longer term currency movements and has a nice section (ch 6-12) on fundamental drivers, it also has a section on technicals. It depends on your current level of knowledge though to gauge how helpful the book will be, nonetheless its an easy read so might be worth getting back to basics.

Search for Jacko's thread on forexfactory and "live with oscar" on google. They both offer slightly longer-term strategic trading ideas. Then customise to suit.

Hey buddy,

I have a question for you actually; if you can successfully scalp, why would you want to stop and start over on a larger timeframe?