Trolls Beware

Terrorists...now trolls...I can't stand Governments...what will be the next bogeyman they need to protect us from...

Terrorists...now trolls...I can't stand Governments...what will be the next bogeyman they need to protect us from...

Any excuse will do. This is simply part of a much wider agenda that goes hand in hand with a vast array of measures, from the slow-motion abolition of jury trial and habeas corpus to the ludicrous Leveson inquiry (which is simply an entirely cynical attempt to undermine the freedom of the press under a massively flimsy pretext).

You'd probably have to go back to before the Glorious Revolution to find a time when Britons were less free than now.

People are scum, what else is new? I've been using the internet since 1994 and nobody had a problem with trolls until facebook was invented and the media sensationalised "trolling"...so it's a crime to insult someone now...what next?

Yeah well I ****in invented the ****in internet so stick that up your a* you ****in ********.:cheesy: Quite good fun this trolling lark.

Internet I.D cards coming soon....

Those are obviously disgusting examples of deliberate wickedness. But hard cases make bad law, and there has been a disturbing tendency to use such things as an excuse for the blanket erosion of vital liberties.

Leveson is a prime example. If journalists have broken the law, that is a matter for the police and the courts. Instead, we have a witch hunt into press "ethics" which is simply aimed at curtailing the freedom of the press.

Thomas Jefferson expressed it perfectly: