Things with fibs: A toolkit of strategies using fibs for entries, stops and targets.

HoleyProfit

I've been trading with fibs for around 15 years. In this time I've made various observations on fibs, bets around those observations and then usually a lot of time trying to work out why I wasn't making money.

At this point in time I have somewhere around 25 specific strategies built around recurring tendencies. That sounds like a lot more than it is because a lot of the strategies are based on the same general underlying concepts and just have slight derivative rules.

In this thread I'll cover the basic rules for various strategies (10 - 15 in total) and do running examples of trade signals and execution.

The underlying thesis of my approach to trading is, used correctly, fibs have a very high probability of marking decision levels in the market. They don't tell you if price will go up or down, but they can help you to know where big decisions can be made and structure smart bets around that.

Example:

Let's say we have a key fib level on something at 100. It has been going up, has hit 100 and 100 is a big fib resistance. What happens at 100 is probably going to be important. Maybe it reverses and drops 50 - 70%. Maybe it breaks out, pops 20% and holds a retest.

From this I can structure some bets that make sense. If I can short with a possible 50% gain and only risk 5% because I "Know" if the level fails we'll likely go strong up for a while, this is a great pay off. Even if you get those 1/3 of the time they come good. Alternatively, I also "Know" the 100 level was an area big sellers could have come in. If they didn't, maybe there are none. I should probably review my bias and plan further upside levels. If and when this level is retested, I again have a chance to take an asymmetric RR bet.