Short FTSE 4200

wallstreet1928

Legendary member
Is there anybody else going short on the FTSE?

can you please explain your arguments as to why and the please add incidicators/signals that have supported your view?

thanks

I went short on the FTSE at about 4120. After the big open on low liquidity it was clear after an hour or so that there was not strong buying. Instead it started a gradual sell off. A fund manager on Bloomberg also stated that when he returned to his office he would be selling into this rally. Now at 9:30 some stronger signs of buying.

I'm a novice, btw, so don't listen to me :)

I'm selling too into this strength. I think after the FED we could see a sell off on the DOW with a flat to slightly up close. I sold at 4200 last night and its looking nice now. A trailing stop is the order of the day to lock in profits.

FTSE futures becoming much more active now, stronger buying. Traders coming back from their tea breaks?

you mentioned volume Fortune500, know please can you tell me where you get that information from?

I use Marketmaker software and cant find the amount of volume traded on Dow, Nasdaq or FTSE?

please can you direct me?

I use ShareScope which gives volumes on the FTSE. But it's more a feel I get when looking at the prices constantly moving and changing hands. It's like watching The Matrix in it unencoded state :)

I'm using ShareScope Pro. But don't listen to me; I'm very new to all this, just learning as I go along. I'm sure other chaps on this forum will advise completely differently (I've had no experience of any other package).

so how did you get into/learn about shares or trading?

i ask because its always interesting hearing the story of how we all started?

I started by catching my university professor trading the Nikkei in his room when i went to ask him for help? i showed an interest and he started to teach me technical analysis as i did economics at manchester uni.......