Hello .....

robicat

Hi,

Wanted to introduce myself. My names Rob, interested in psychotherapy, poker and of course trading - which is a new exploration and one that i find facinating and frustrating.

I am new to trading, and paper trading at the moment. I am trying to develop a strategy that will let me dip my toe into the waters with about $1000, which is about all I can easily lose without too much angst. After some initial success I am losing lots of trades. This is happening now that I have wound right back the risk per deal to practice protecting a small account. I'm not planning to go with real money till i have something consistant and workable sorted.

What I am interested in is in is advice on money management, entry selection, and when to close out. Also what instruments might be bests to trade on this micro level. ($1000 account) I am playing with ASX and FTSE, CFDs though having a little look at ForEx as well.

At the moment I am working on setting a stop 10-20 pips out as a backstop, but closing out if I lose the spread (say 2) plus 4 and trying to get 12-15 points out of the winners. The strategy is not working as I am getting caught with 10-12 pip loses occasionally and am also losing too many of my deals. I have no idea it seems about entry selection - though I am using stops and resistance points, and some indicators to help. It seem that every time I take a position the market moves the other way lol.

Anyhow - I really want to get up this learning curve, and plan to do some training, for now any tips and advice for a keen noob would be valued and appreciated.

Cheers

Robi

Hi Rob,

I like poker too :D

Losing lots of trades is not a problem if your losses are small and you win big on the winning trades. You should keep your risk/trade a fixed % and not change from it. Once you get scared and start scaling it down it turns your hill into a mountain (I'm cringing at this analogy :p)