GOAL? 10 points at 5x$ or 50 points at 1x$

SuperDriveGuy

Hi ,
I am new to trading and have been learning a lot from these forums.

I have basically picked up from here that its better to have a points target than a $ based one. My question is ..

? Which is better, having a goal set to 10 points a day, with 5 times the dollar amount input COMPARED to 50 points target a day at 1 times the dollar amount input.

Sorry, if this sounds very basic and ODD, this will really help me in defining my strategy.

Thanks for you time

Hi - It is a basic question but you can be forgiven because the answer is not simple at all.

You set your target according to your chosen instrument and your methodology. So, its easier to get 1% out of a volatile instrument like the Dow than a flat one (its also easier to lose 1%). But if you wish to day-trade and have a methodology that allows you to identify good set-ups and entry points for day-trading, you might have to wait 6 hours to squeeze 1% out of the Dow or even risk carrying overnight into the next day.

What about this? - Look at the charts for your market. Let the chart tell you what to do. If your signal normally gives a gain of 100pts, make 80pts your target. Try to keep a part of your position open then for the remaining 20 (or more if you can) pts. But make sure you are not accepting a loss of 200pts on the trades that go wrong. Concentrate on not losing big before you focus on winning big.

Success at trading = Capital x Time x Risk.
If you try to reduce Time, you will have to either increase your Capital or take a bigger Risk. New traders cannot do the first and should not do the second.