From $0 to $100k (whilst working full time)

tr1ps_master

Hello All,

Aim of this journal - document my progress and show what it actually takes.
Most useful information - I will be showing my statistics along the way.

I studied trading seriously over a decade ago futures/fx/commodities, realised I needed a full time job with security for mortgage etc so not really gone back to trading properly until a year and a half ago. I really enjoy my work and will continue progressing in my career whilst trading on the side.

Due to the nature of my degree and work I am well versed in finance and maths - however as most will tell you...this means Jack sh*t when it comes to trading. Sometimes the less you know the simpler things are!

Throughout my career, I always looked back at charts...but not taking this seriously, that is until the advent of online prop firms. I could not really see myself making proper money from trading previously because even if you have a good strategy (and your able to stick long enough to it) the biggest issue one has is undercapitalisation. Now you can opt to buy a challenge with some of these firms $50k account for ~$300 (or $100k for ~$500). If you pass the metrics required (which I've done twice previously in 2023) that's some serious capital which you can grow to more accounts. There are numerous 7 figure traders out there, including one of my close friends, who has been trading 7 figures consistently for a few years now and receiving their share of payouts on a regular basis.

This has led to back to trading and taking it seriously once again.

I had learnt swing trading in the beginning and went through umpteen courses/material - so much stuff is out there... honestly... - but I realised this is all the same stuff...just named differently the real edge is doing what others are not doing (and I am not talking about strategy). I had tried short term trading to longer term, using indicators and no indicators, to using some ema's.