Applying to Prop Shops

clicksta

I'm at the stage of my trading where I want to take it seriously and do it full time. I have been trading on and off for 4 years. I am sound in TA, risk management and more importantly self management.

I would like to apply to prop shops as a fully backed trader, as I don't have the funds right now to go it alone. Would I prejudice myself if they knew I'd had some experience of trading, as I've heard that they like to mould you as they see fit and they don't want traders who think they know it all?

Your help appreciated.

depends if you were looking to get onto a grad scheme, or just go in as a backed trader with your own method.

If you have 6-12 months of statements showing consistency of profits and low risk, you can probably get a backed deal somewhere and trade your own method with a firms money.

If you want to go the grad scheme route and be taught the firms methodology, you'll have to trawl efinancialcareers or the arcade directory here on T2W and find a firm thats recruiting and see what sort of applicants they want.

Arbitrageur said:
If you have 6-12 months of statements showing consistency of profits and low risk, you can probably get a backed deal somewhere and trade your own method with a firms money.

arb, what sort of returns % wise would be deemed acceptable for getting on a backed deal??

I've never been through that particular hoop so I dont know unfortunately.

They would look at risk vs reward - risk being the bigger concern since if you make money on a backed deal they only get to keep a percentage of it, whereas if you lose money they get to eat the whole loss.

It'd be a business decision - look at it from their viewpoint - if it were £50k of YOUR money, would you let some guy you dont know, with your methods results in his hand trade your cash in return for say 50% (or less) of the profits? if your performance is good enough that you'd say yes then thats possibly what the arcade would say.