Am I a bit bonkers?

slicendice73

Hi everyone,

I'm a total newbie to all things trading (as in a *TOTAL* newbie!) so this is my very first, very tentative step into what is a totally foreign environment for me.

The reason I'm here, in a nutshell, is that I want to help my brother (who lives in the USA). He has recently gone through a really messy divorce in which he got absolutely shafted and is now in a pretty precarious position financially. Sadly, it's not just his finances that have taken a massive hit...it turns out that his now ex-wife is a narcissist who had been abusing him for years (financially, emotionally, physically). This has had a devastating effect on his mental health and left him bordering on PTSD. Add to that the fact that she ran up huge debts before the divorce, knowing she could offload half of them onto him...so he now has a debt of ~£80k and absolutely no way of paying it off.

The long and the short of it is that I want to try and help him out and trading was one of the ways that seemed like it might be possible to generate some income. I'm by no means wealthy myself, otherwise I'd just pay his debt and be done with it. But sadly I can't, so here I am. I'm not looking to make £millions and start living the jet-set lifestyle (that so isn't me!)...I just want to see if I can help my brother make a dent in his debts.

The challenge I'm facing is that there is SO MUCH information out there that it's kind of overwhelming...books, websites, training courses, YouTube videos, etc, etc all claiming they can show you how to make money. I've ploughed through a bunch of stuff and whilst some of it has been useful, there's been some quite contradictory advice - one video might say "You should do XYZ and ignore anyone who says otherwise"...and then another video says "Don't do XYZ and ignore anyone who says otherwise"!